$110,139.00 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

posted 5/12/2014 in News




Audubon Downtown Revitalization Stage Committee

Complete stage structure in John James Audubon City Park


Audubon Recreation Foundation

Build recreation center


Audubon Youth Softball/Baseball League

Facility improvements: batting cages, bleachers, backstop, dugout benches, concession stand


Audubon Tennis Association

Repairs to four courts


Exira Park Committee

LED programmable sign for town park


Exira Public Library

Equipment to focus on teens and children


Friendship Home Foundation

Capital campaign for new Memory Care Unit

Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that grants totaling $110,139.00 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.
The nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the February 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the ACCF Board of Directors:

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on April 18th. During brief check distribution activities, Irlmeier commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

"Our Advisory Board is pleased to direct $110,139.00 in grants to these important community efforts in Audubon County," Irlmeier explained. "The Audubon County Community Foundation is one of nine counties that are collectively known as the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa and meets or exceeds the Standards for Community Foundations as established by the Council on Foundations in Washington DC."

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and

interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you’ll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow

Iowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Irlmeier.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of rural Gray; Secretary/Treasurer Thomas R. Nielsen of Audubon; Joanie Heuton of Kimballton;; Jay Nelson of rural Brayton; Daryl Olsen of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen, Esq. of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.

Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards. 1st row, left to right: Maddie Christensen, Bradley Nissen, Sandy Nissen, Audubon Tennis Association; Jenny Smith, Audubon Recreation Foundation; Genelle Deist, Friendship Home Association; Jill Hermansen and Bob Gust, Audubon Youth Softball/Baseball. 2nd row: Sandy Bauer, Exira Public Library; Pat Curtis,

Audubon Downtown Revitalization Committee; Tom Nielsen, Secretary/Treasurer, Audubon County Community Foundation; Jonnie Meislahn, Vice Chair, Audubon County Community Foundation; Troy Wessel, Audubon Youth Softball/Baseball.


  1. grants
  2. nonprofit