Fall 2023 Audubon County Community Foundation Awards

posted 11/15/2023 in Grants/Awards by Audubon County Community Foundation

$42,343 granted to Audubon County community projects 

The Audubon County Community Foundation awarded $42,343 to Audubon County nonprofit organizations and community projects during its Fall 2023 Grant Cycle. Including these most recent grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed more than $2.8 million in grants and scholarships over the past 25 years. 

The following organizations are Fall 2023 Grant Recipients:  




Audubon County Agricultural Society 

Race Track Concession Stand 


Audubon Recreation Foundation 

Protecting the ARC Gymnasium Expansion 


Elderbridge Agency on Aging 

Congregate and Home Delivered Meals 


Exira Farmer's Market 



Exira Lions Club 

Updating Exira Little League Program 


Friendship Home 

Spa room renovations 


All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible to apply. 

These grant funds were made possible by generous donors to the Audubon County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds allocated through the community foundation: Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund; Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund; Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund; Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund for Audubon County, Iowa; Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon; and Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund.  

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To learn more about donating to the Audubon County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any advisory board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Audubon County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.  

Advisory board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair Pat Kaiser of Audubon; Vice Chair Gina Benton of Exira; Secretary/Treasurer Megan Wagner of Audubon; Bob Blomme of Audubon; Travis Nelson of Exira; Donna Olson of Kimballton, and Doug Carter of Audubon. 

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Sunni Kamp (sunni@omahafoundation.org) or Sydney Calcagno (sydney@omahafoundation.org) at 800-794-3458.