2018 Fall Grant-Audubon County Community Foundation

posted 11/19/2018 in Grants/Awards

$46,900 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

Genelle Deist, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that $46,900 in grants was awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.  With these grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed over $1.9 million in grants and scholarships over the last 21 years.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the September 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the Audubon County Board of Directors:




Audubon County Historical Society

Replace windows of Nathaniel Hamlin Park Museum


Audubon Recreation Foundation

Bowling Lane Construction


Brayton Community Club

Phase 2 of Renovations


Exira Public Library

Fireproof Book Drop


The amount available included $2,500 for the Exira area from the Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund, $2,500 from the Milo and Dolores Clemmensen Fund, $2,500 from the Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund, $900 from the Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund, $1,000 is available for the City of Audubon area from the Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund, $450 is available for the City of Audubon from the Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon, and $450 for the City of Audubon from the Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund. 

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services.  Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on November 2nd.  During brief check distribution activities, Deist commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

The Audubon County Community Foundation was established in 1997 and works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create charitable funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests.  Donating to a charitable fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow.   Not only that, you may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit for donations, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations.  “This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall,” said Deist. 

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Genelle Deist of Audubon; Vice Chair, Joel Hoegh of rural Brayton; Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Bob Blomme of Audubon; Shelley Burr of Audubon; Steven B. Hansen of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.

Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards, left to right:  Jessie Wheeler and Katie Wheeler, Exira Public Library; Shelley Burr, Audubon County Community Foundation board member; Jenny Smith, Audubon Recreation Foundation; Judy Olson, Audubon County Historical Society; Joel Hoegh, Vice Chair, Audubon County Community Foundation; and Cally Christensen, City of Brayton.