2019 Fall Community Grant

posted 11/1/2019 in Grants/Awards by Stacey Goodman

$41,515 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

The Audubon County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that grants totaling $41,515 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies. With these grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed over $2.1 million in grants and scholarships over the last 22 years.

The following organizations were awarded grants by the Audubon County Community Foundation Advisory Board at a check presentation on November 1st:




Audubon County Conservation Board

Playground at Littlefield Recreation Area


Audubon County Fair Board

Grandstand Renovation


Audubon Fire and Rescue Association

Fire Station Construction and Relocation


Nathaniel Hamlin Park and Museums

Restoration of Nathaniel Hamlin Museum House


The Children’s Nest

Renovation to Classroom


All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible to apply.

These grant funds were made possible by the generosity of donors to the Audubon County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds through the community foundation: Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund; Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund; Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund; Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund for Audubon County, Iowa; Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon; and Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund.

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds—such as those above—that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Audubon County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Audubon County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair, Genelle Deist of Audubon; Vice Chair, Joel Hoegh of rural Brayton; Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Gina Benton of Exira, Bob Blomme of Audubon; Steven B. Hansen of Audubon; and Megan Wagner of Audubon.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or stacey@omahafoundation.org.