2019 Spring Audubon County Community Foundation Grant Awarded

posted 4/5/2019 in Grants/Awards

$116,841 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

Genelle Deist, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that grants totaling $116,841.19 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the February 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the Audubon County Community Foundation Advisory Board:




Audubon County Conservation Board

Littlefield Recreation Area Playground


Audubon Recreation Foundation

Bowling Lanes


Exira Community Club

Rec Reno Project


Exira Parks Committee

Exira Legion Playground Project


Friendship Home Foundation

Memory Support Unit Improvements


The Children's Nest

Playground Renovation Project


All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services.  Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible. 

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on April 5th. During brief check distribution activities, Deist commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

“Our Advisory Board is pleased to direct $116,841.19 in grants to these important community efforts in Audubon County,” Deist explained.  “The Audubon County Community Foundation is one of nine county affiliates that are collectively known as the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa, and are affiliated with the Omaha Community Foundation, which meets National Standards for Community Foundations.” 

The Audubon County Community Foundation, as an affiliate of the Omaha Community Foundation and member of the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa, receives funds annually from the State of Iowa County Endowment Fund Program for endowment building and grantmaking throughout the county. Created in 2004, the County Endowment Fund Program is funded by a percentage of the state’s commercial gaming tax revenue.  These funds are distributed annually to participating community foundations and affiliate community foundations associated with counties without a state-issued gaming license. 

Beyond the County Endowment Fund Program, the Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests.  Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow.   Not only that, you may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations.  “This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall,” said Deist 

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair, Genelle Deist of Audubon; Vice Chair, Joel Hoegh of rural Brayton; Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Bob Blomme of Audubon; Shelley Burr of Audubon; Steven B. Hansen of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen of Exira. 

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.

Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards (left to right): 1st row: Mary Wede, The Children's Nest; Jess Nixon, Friendship Home Foundation; Lexi Christensen, Exira Parks Committee; Harper and Abby Rasmussen, Exira Community Club; 2nd row: Bruce Haag, Audubon County Conservation Board, Troy Wessel and Jenny Smith, Audubon Recreation Foundation; 3rd row: Audubon County Community Foundation Advisory Board Members Shelley Burr, Genelle Deist, and Bob Blomme.