Spring 2015 Grants

posted 4/13/2015 in News

$103,866.00 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

Brett Irlmeier, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that grants totaling $103,866.00 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the February 1st deadline, were awarded grants by the ACCF Board of Directors:




Audubon Chamber of Commerce

LED sign for John James Audubon City Park


Audubon Community School

Funds for lights around track for public walking in early morning and evening


Audubon County Early Childhood Organization

Expand childcare center at Friendship Home


Audubon Recreation Foundation

Funding for construction of recreation center


Exira Community Club

Exira Rec Center renovations and upgrades


Exira Lions Club

Tables and chairs for serving area


Exira Park Committee/City of Exira

Exira Flood Memorial Park signage and walkway improvements


All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services.  Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on April 10th.  During brief check distribution activities, Irlmeier commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

“Our Advisory Board is pleased to direct $103,866.00 in grants to these important community efforts in Audubon County,” Irlmeier explained.  “The Audubon County Community Foundation is one of nine counties that are collectively known as the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa and meets or exceeds the Standards for Community Foundations as established by the Council on Foundations in Washington DC.” 

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests.  Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow.   Not only that, you’ll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations.  “This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall,” said Irlmeier. 

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are:  Chair, Brett Irlmeier of Audubon; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of rural Gray; Secretary/Treasurer Thomas R. Nielsen of Audubon; Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Jay Nelson of rural Brayton; Daryl Olsen of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.

Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards.  1st row, left to right: Exira Lions Club members Allen and Chrystal Zobel; Mary Ann and Dale Huegerich, Dorothy Wolf, Mike Davis, Jim Richey, and Ron Juelsgaard. 2nd row: Peggy Toft, Abby Rasmussen, and Katie Glade, Exira Community Club; Kate Hargens and Matt Heller, The Children’s Nest/Audubon County Early Childhood Organization; Barb Smith, Secretary, Audubon Chamber of Commerce; Vi and Darrell Kilworth, Exira Park Committee. 3rd row: Jane Schmitz, Audubon Recreation Foundation; and Audubon County Community Foundation board members Thomas R. Nielsen (Secretary/Treasurer) and Brett Irlmeier (Chair).