Emergency Management

Audubon County Emergency Management

Tyler Thygesen, Emergency Mangement Coordinator
318 Leroy St #4
Audubon, IA 50025
Phone: 712/563-3483
Email: audcoema@auduboncountyia.gov

EMA Commission Members:

Audubon County Board: Heath Hansen

Audubon County Sheriff: Todd Johnson

City of Audubon:  Mayor Barb Jacobsen

City of Brayton: Mayor Greg Gust

City of Exira: Mayor Mike Huegerch

City of Gray: Mayor Penny Schmidt

City Kimballton: Mayor Carol Hartvigsen

Duties of The Office
The Audubon County Emergency Management office is responsible for the coordination of the training exercise activities of local law enforcement and fire departments, hospital, medical and EMT/ambulance services.

A major function of the department is to aid the County and municipalities in preparing for, responding to, and recovering from incidents, whether natural or man-made. Emergency Management also maintains and updates the Audubon County Multi-Hazard, Hazard Mitigation and County Recovery Plans.

The County Emergency Management Department works closely with the E911 Board. The Board is comprised of representatives from each city fire department, law enforcement (both city and county), city council, County Board of Supervisors and 911 dispatchers.